teachers

Olivier

Blanckart

Studio professor

Born in Brussels in 1959. Lives and works in Paris.

Olivier Blanckart's work is focussed around three axes: activism, sculpture and photography. An autodidact and politically conscious, the artist first came to public attention as a result of provocative acts such as: Jean-Michel, a reeking, homeless artist beggar, as whom he attended vernissages; virulent leaflets in galleries and museums; a banner-slogan on the Centre Pompidou stating: "Art against AIDS won’t do any good: wear condoms!"; leading the fight artistic censorship through columns, articles, conferences, etc.

As a sculptor he developed a singular technique using cheap packaging materials (sellotape, brown paper, cardboard) and reinterpreted iconic scenes from pop culture and the media: deliberately monumental sculptural ensembles in tape in the Pop Art and Arte Povera lineage - a political counterpoint, in what was most “impure” about them, to conventional historical sculpture and caricature and satirical sculpture.

Finally, as a photographer, he has produced a work of comic self-portraits in which he represents himself as Coluche, Merkel, Poussin, Courbet, Mélenchon etc. Olivier Blanckart, who defines himself as a "total artist", fully assumes the major aesthetic variations in his work: “An artist's work consists of everything an artist does.” It is just this universal, welcoming, alert, fanatical, experimental and stubborn spirit of curiosity that Olivier Blanckart aims to foster as a studio artist at Beaux-Arts de Paris. His work is represented in public collections in both France and abroad. He is a Prix Marcel Duchamp nominee. His work has been the subject of several solo exhibitions: Blois, MAMCO in Geneva, Dole. He participated in the Pileup exhibition at the Grand-Palais (2016) and his work has featured at the Rencontres Internationales de la Photo in Arles, Images Vevey, Beaux-Arts de Rennes (2018) and the exhibition, Le rêve d’être artiste, at Beaux-Arts de Lille (2019).

Professeurs

Olivier

Blanckart

Chef d'atelier

Né à Bruxelles en 1959. Vit et travaille à Paris.

Le travail d’Olivier Blanckart se déploie suivant trois axes : activisme, sculpture, photographie. Autodidacte, citoyen engage, l’artiste s’est d’abord fait remarquer par ses actions provocatrices : « Jean-Michel » artiste-SDF mendiant et puant ; tracts virulents dans des galeries et musées ; bannière-slogan sur le Centre Pompidou : « L’art contre le sida ne sert à rien : mettez des capotes ! », lutte contre la censure artistique : tribunes, articles, colloques, etc.

Sculpteur, il a développé, à partir de matériaux d’emballage pauvres détournés (scotch, papier kraft, carton) une technique singulière et il réinterprète des scènes iconiques de la pop culture et des médias : ensembles sculpturaux en scotch volontiers monumentaux dans l’héritage du Pop Art et de l’Arte Povera – versant politique de la sculpture d’histoire « académique » et de la caricature et la sculpture satiriques, dans ce qu’elles ont de plus « impures ».

Photographe enfin, il mène un travail d’autoportraits comiques où il se représente « en » Coluche, Merkel, Poussin, Courbet, Mélenchon... Des grands écarts esthétiques qu’Olivier Blanckart, qui se définit comme « artiste total », assume : « L’œuvre d’un artiste est tout ce qu’un artiste fait ». C’est autour de cet esprit de curiosité universelle, accueillant, alerte, « allumé », expérimentateur et têtu, qu’Olivier Blanckart entend accueillir dans son atelier. Présent dans les collections publiques françaises et étrangères, il a été nominé au Prix Marcel Duchamp. Il a bénéficié de plusieurs expositions personnelles : Blois, MAMCO-Genève, Dole ; participé à l’exposition Carambolages au Grand-Palais (2016) ; Rencontres Internationales de la photo d’Arles, Images Vevey, musée des Beaux-Arts de Rennes (2018), exposition Le rêve d’être artiste, musée des Beaux-Arts de Lille, automne 2019.